Why I Pray Even Though I Know Better

” I pray because when I do it moves my heart in ways that my brain cannot.” Totally agree. Amen!

Thought Catalog


I consider myself to be a rational person.

I mean sure, I’m emotional. After a heartfelt episode of Glee or when those Tide commercials come on during the Olympics—I am a blubbering mess. But for the most part, and on most days, I think I’m a considerably rational person.

The truth is because I am a rational person, I know better than to believe a lot of things. I know better than to believe that global warming is just a myth. I know better than to believe that systems of racial, social, and economic injustices have been absolved. I know better than to believe that the Sunday morning brunch wait will, “just be 15 more minutes.”

And to be honest, I know better than to pray.

Because I’m a person who believes in doing things that make sense.

I know better than to do things like get down on my…

View original post 446 more words

Leave a Reply

